Datoc Named to Stopper of the Year Preseason Watch List

Feb. 12, 2018

NCBWA 2018 Stopper of the Year Preseason Watch List

– Georgia Tech baseball senior relief pitcher Jared Datoc was one of only fifty-two players nationwide to be named to the preseason watch list for the 14th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I Baseball, the association announced Monday.

Last season as a junior, Datoc made a team-high 32 appearances on the mound for the Jackets, which is tied for the 10th-most appearances by a pitcher in a single season in Georgia Tech history and was tied for the sixth-most among all ACC pitchers on the year. The Atlanta native was tied for the team lead with six wins on the season (6-1) and also recorded two saves on the year. Second on the team with 57.1 innings pitched, Datoc posted a 3.77 ERA out of the bullpen with 51 strikeouts compared to just 23 walks.

About the Stopper of the Year Award

Given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia’s Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State’s Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas’ Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. The Longhorns’ Corey Knebel won in 2011, with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. UCLA’s David Berg was crowned the winner in 2013, Louisville’s Nick Burdi took home the 2014 honor and Berg became the award's first two-time winner in 2015. Miami (Fla.)’s Bryan Garcia was honored as the 2016 recipient followed by the Cardinals’ Lincoln Henzman in 2017.



The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects all-America teams for all Divisions, a Division I freshman all-American team, Division I, II and III Players of the Week and Division I, II and III Players of the Year.

For the latest information on the Georgia Tech baseball team, follow us on Twitter (@GTBaseball), Facebook, Instagram (@gt_baseball) or visit us at www.ramblinwreck.com.