Shumpert Among Contestants in NBA Slam Dunk Contest

Shumpert averages 10.6 points per game with the Knicks.

Feb. 16, 2012

What: Sprite Slam Dunk Contest
When: Feb. 25, 8:30 p.m. ET (4th event)
Where: Amway Center, Orlando, Fla.
TV: All-Star Saturday Night coverage starts at 8 p.m. ET on TNT

Shumpert highlights  |  Shumpert's NBA bio

New York, N.Y. - Former Georgia Tech star and New York Knicks rookie Iman Shumpert is among four first-time participants named to compete for the Sprite Slam Dunk championship on Feb. 25, at Amway Center in Orlando (TNT, 8 p.m. ET). He will compete against the Houston Rockets' Chase Budinger, the Indiana Pacers' Paul George, the New York Knicks' Iman Shumpert, and the Minnesota Timberwolves' Derrick Williams.

The 2012 Sprite Slam Dunk in Orlando will feature a new single-round format in which the winner will be chosen solely by fan vote, and the introduction of fan voting via Twitter.

Shumpert has started 16 of the Knick's 26 games this season, averaging 10.6 points and 3.3 assists per game. The 6-5 guard from Oak Park, Ill., earned second-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors and a spot on the ACC's All-Defensive team in 2011, and averaged 12.7 points and 4.2 assists during his career at Tech (2009-11), finishing 32nd all-time in career points (1,166), 11th in assists and fourth in steals (207).

A new format will be implemented for the 2012 competition. The contest will consist of only one round and each competitor will execute three dunks. Fan voting will open after all four players have completed their first dunk. Previously, the Sprite Slam Dunk contest consisted of two rounds, with the first round scored by a panel of judges which determined two finalists.

Beginning this year, only fan voting will be utilized in determining the winner and voting also will expand to social media. For the first time ever, fans will be able to cast votes on Twitter by posting a corresponding letter assigned to each dunker along with the hashtag #SpriteSlam. Since 2008, fans have determined the winner of the Sprite Slam Dunk through SMS TXT and voting on as part of the "They Dunk. You Decide" campaign.



The Sprite Slam Dunk is part of NBA All-Star 2012, which also includes the BBVA Rising Stars Challenge, NBA All-Star Saturday Night presented by State Farm featuring the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, Haier Shooting Stars and Taco Bell Skills Challenge; NBA All-Star Jam Session; and the 61st NBA All-Star Game.

Sprite, the world's leading lemon-lime soft drink, has been the official soft drink of the NBA since 1994 and the title partner of the All-Star Slam Dunk competition since 2003.

Sprite Slam Dunk Year-By-Year Winners
2011 -- Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers
2010 -- Nate Robinson, New York
2009 -- Nate Robinson, New York
2008 -- Dwight Howard, Orlando
2007 -- Gerald Green, Boston
2006 -- Nate Robinson, New York
2005 -- Josh Smith, Atlanta
2004 -- Fred Jones, Indiana
2003 -- Jason Richardson, Golden State
2002 -- Jason Richardson, Golden State
2001 -- Desmond Mason, Seattle
2000 -- Vince Carter, Toronto
1997 -- Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
1996 -- Brent Barry, L.A. Clippers
1995 -- Harold Miner, Miami
1994 -- Isaiah Rider, Minnesota
1993 -- Harold Miner, Miami
1992 -- Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix
1991 -- Dee Brown, Boston
1990 -- Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1989 -- Kenny Walker, New York
1988 -- Michael Jordan, Chicago
1987 -- Michael Jordan, Chicago
1986 -- Spud Webb, Atlanta
1985 -- Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1984 -- Larry Nance, Phoenix