Smith Wins State Farm 3-Point Championship

Smith and Indiana's Yogi Ferrell embrace after the Tech senior won in the finals.
April 1, 2016

Cypress, Texaa - Georgia Tech senior Adam Smith scored an impressive 50 points over the final two rounds, and defeated Indiana's Yogi Ferrell in the final to win Thursday night's State Farm 3-Point Championship at the Berry Center in Cypress, Texas.

In the finals of the Marines Men’s 3-Point Championship, the 6-1 guard sank 17 straight 3-point shots in round two and scored 26 out of a possible 30 points, while Ferrell nearly matched him with 24 round two points. Smith stayed hot in the final round, scoring 23 points compared to Ferrell’s 16 to capture the title.

Smith becamd the second Tech player to win this event, joining Tony Akins, who won in 2002 in Atlanta.

The University of Minnesota’s Rachel Banham earned the Ooma Women’s 3-Point Championship edging Kelsey Minato of Army, 18-15, and went on to defeat Smith, 14-12, in the 3-Point Battle of Champions.

The 28th annual event featured 24 of the nation’s top college basketball players entertaining a crowd of 6,187 people at Berry Center in Cypress, Texas. The program was broadcast live on ESPN.