Men's Basketball

Tech's ACC Basketball Schedule Announced

GoJackets Senior point guard Mfon Udofia will play his final Tech home game against NC State on March 3.
GoJackets
Senior point guard Mfon Udofia will play his final Tech home game against NC State on March 3.
GoJackets

Aug. 22, 2012

THE FLATS - Home games against Atlantic Coast Conference champion Florida State, as well as NCAA Tournament teams North Carolina, NC State and Virginia, highlight Georgia Tech's 18-game conference schedule, released Wednesday afternoon by the conference office.

Complete ACC release  |  Complete ACC conference-game-only schedule

In the first year that the ACC will play an 18-game conference slate, the Yellow Jackets have home-and-away series with Clemson, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest. Maryland also will visit Atlanta in the Yellow Jackets' first year in McCamish Pavilion, and Tech will travel to Boston College and Duke.

Miami, an NIT team last season and the last team to play Tech at Alexander Memorial Coliseum, will be the first ACC team to play in Tech's new 8,600-seat, on-campus arena, kicking off the Yellow Jackets' league schedule on Jan. 5 at 2:30 p.m.

The ACC Champion Seminoles will visit Atlanta on Tuesday, Feb. 5, the Tar Heels come to McCamish Pavilion on Feb. 19, and the Wolfpack closes out the Yellow Jackets' home schedule on March 3. Tech finishes out the regular season with trips to the conference's farthest points - Miami and Boston College - on Mar. 6 and 9.

"The additional conference games instantly make your schedule a bigger challenge, but it also gives us another quality opponent at home," said head coach Brian Gregory, entering his second season with the Yellow Jackets with all five starters returning and a highly-regarded recruiting class in the fold. "I'm happy we have a couple of games on ESPNU at home so we can show off our new arena to a national audience. We're looking forward to it."

All 18 of Tech's ACC games will appear with on ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, the ACC Network or the ACC's regional cable network, which include Fox Sports South in the Southeastern United States. Tech makes two appearances on ESPN or ESPN2 (at Duke on Jan. 17 and at North Carolina on Jan. 23), and two appearances on ESPNU, both home games against Virginia on Feb. 3 and NC State on Mar. 3.

 

 

The Yellow Jackets have four other scheduled appearances on the ESPN networks, all three games in the Anaheim Classic on Thanksgiving weekend and the ACC-Big Ten Challenge game at Illinois on Nov. 28.

All of Tech's games on the ESPN networks can also be viewed on WatchESPN, accessible online at WatchESPN.com and through smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider. Games on the ACC Network and the ACC regional cable network can be seen online on ESPN3.

All eight of Tech's remaining non-conference games will be played at McCamish Pavilion, including the Nov. 9 opener against Tulane and the Dec. 4 game against Georgia. Tip times and television for those games will be announced at a later date.

The 2013 ACC Tournament at the Greensboro (N.C.) Coliseum on March 14-17 will be televised on a variety of ESPN platforms including ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and on the ACC Network.

2012-13 GEORGIA TECH MEN'S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE
Non-conference home game times and TV to be announced later
Date Day Opponent TV Time

Nov. 9 Fri. TULANE - tbd
Nov. 14 Wed. PRESBYTERIAN - tbd
Nov. 22 Thu. Rice (Anaheim Classic, Anaheim, Calif.) ESPNU 9 p.m.
Nov. 23 Fri. California or Drake (Anaheim Classic, Anaheim, Calif.) ESPN2 or U tbd
Nov. 25 Sun. Finals (Anaheim Classic, Anaheim, Calif.) ESPN2 or U tbd
Nov. 28 Wed. at Illinois (ACC-Big Ten Challenge) ESPN2 9 p.m.
Dec. 4 Tue. GEORGIA - tbd
Dec. 8 Sat. UNC-WILMINGTON - tbd
Dec. 17 Mon. ALABAMA STATE - tbd
Dec. 22 Sat. THE CITADEL - tbd
Dec. 29 Sat. FORDHAM - tbd
Jan. 2 Wed. CHATTANOOGA - tbd
Jan. 5 Sat. MIAMI ACCN 2:30 p.m.
Jan. 9 Wed. at NC State ACCN 8 p.m.
Jan. 12 Sat. VIRGINIA TECH ACCN 2:30 p.m.
Jan. 17 Thu. at Duke ESPN/ESPN2 9 p.m.
Jan. 23 Wed. at North Carolina ESPN 9 p.m.
Jan. 26 Sat. WAKE FOREST ACCN 3 p.m.
Jan. 29 Tue. at Clemson RSN 7 p.m.
Feb. 3 Sun. VIRGINIA ESPNU 3 p.m.
Feb. 5 Tue. FLORIDA STATE RSN 9 p.m.
Feb. 9 Sat. at Virginia Tech RSN 1 p.m.
Feb. 14 Thu. CLEMSON RSN 7 p.m.
Feb. 16 Sat. at Wake Forest RSN 2 p.m.
Feb. 19 Tue. NORTH CAROLINA ACCN 9 p.m.
Feb. 24 Sun. at Virginia ACCN 2 p.m.
Feb. 27 Wed. MARYLAND ACCN 8 p.m.
Mar. 3 Sun. NC STATE ESPNU 6 p.m.
Mar. 6 Wed. at Miami ACCN 9 p.m.
Mar. 9 Sat.. at Boston College ACCN 12 noon
Mar. 14-17 Thu.-Sun. ACC Tournament, Greensboro, N.C. ESPN/2/U/ACCN tbd

Home games (in ALL CAPS) at McCamish Pavilion
TV designations:

ACCN -ACC Network (check local listings for station carrying the game)
RSN - ACC regional cable network (Fox Sports South, Fox Sports Florida, Fox Sports Carolinas, Comcast SportsNet, and New England Sports Network)

  Printer-friendly format   Email this article