Three Yellow Jackets Named To Academic All-ACC Football Team

Ray Beno is a two-time Academic All-ACC selection

Feb. 17, 2014

THE FLATS - Georgia Tech senior offensive lineman Ray Beno, sophomore OL Trey Braun and true freshman kicker Harrison Butker were named to the Atlantic Coast Conference's All-Academic Football Team, Commissioner John Swofford announced Monday

Beno, a business administration/economics major who graduated in 2013, earned Academic All-ACC honors for the second straight year. Braun, a mechanical engineering major, and Butker, an industrial engineering major, are first-time selections.

Beno, who has graduated from Tech, was a consistent performer on the offensive line for four seasons. The Newnan (Ga.) native won the 2012 team offensive effort award. He overcame injuries in 2013 to be a leader on the offensive line.

Braun played in all 13 games last season and started the final eight contests. Butker led the Yellow Jackets in scoring (83 points), connecting on 10-of-14 field goal attempts and 53-of-54 PATs.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career. A student-athlete in graduate school must maintain a 3.5 grade point average. All 14 ACC schools were represented by at least two selections on the team. The ACC has selected an All-ACC Academic Football team every year since 1954.

In six years under head coach Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech has produced 23 Academic All-ACC members.

Georgia Tech's Academic All-ACC Selections
1980 Ellis Gardner, T
Mark Schultz, C Mark Bradley, NG
Sheldon Fox, LB
1981 Ellis Gardner, T Mark Sheffield, S
1982 Ellis Gardner, T
Sam Kelly, DE Eddie Fortier, FB
1983 John Ivemeyer, T
Rob Horton, LB
Mike Martin, LB
1984 John Dewberry, QB
Sam Bracken, G
Paul Menegazzi, DB
Chuck Easley, FB
Tony Kepano, G
1985 Sam Bracken, G
John Dewberry, QB
Chuck Easley, TB
Andy Hearn, C
John Ivemeyer, T
1986 Bart Jones, DB
Steve Mullen, DE
Cedric Stallworth, DB
Jim Stradley, C
Rick Strom, QB
Mitch Waters, T
1987 Steve Mullen, DE
Cedric Stallworth, DB
Rick Strom, QB
1989 Steve Mullen, DT
David Hicks, OLB
Stefen Scotton, FB
1990 Stefen Scotton, FB
Jay Martin, DB
1991 Jerrelle Williams, ILB
1992 Coleman Rudolph, DT
1994 Rodney Wilkerson, ILB
1995 Grant Baynham, TE
Dave Frakes, K
1996 Dave Frakes, K
1998 Felipe Claybrooks, DE
Mike Sheridan, SE
Kofi Smith, CB
1999 Dan Dyke, P
Travares Tillman, DB
2000 Felipe Claybrooks, DE
Dan Dyke, P
Jeremy Muyres, DB
2001 Dan Dyke, P
George Godsey, QB
Jeremy Muyres, DB
Kelley Rhino, SP
2002 Dan Dyke, P
Jeremy Muyres, DB
Kelley Rhino, SP
Luke Manget, PK
Daryl Smith, LB
2003 James Butler, DB
Nate Curry, WR
P.J. Daniels, RB
John Paul Foschi, TE
Eric Henderson, DE
Hal Higgins, P
Chris Reis, DB
Gerris Wilkinson, DE
2004 Travis Bell, PK
James Butler, DB
Nate Curry, WR
P.J. Daniels, RB
Chris Reis, LB
2005 Travis Bell, PK
Chris Reis, LB
Kevin Tuminello, C
2006 Travis Bell, PK
Darryl Richard, DT
Kevin Tuminello, C
2007 Travis Bell, PK
Tashard Choice, RB
Colin Peek, TE
Kevin Tuminello, C
2008 Roddy Jones, RB
Darryl Richard, DT
Jaybo Shaw, QB
Cooper Taylor, S
2009 Roddy Jones, RB
Logan Walls, DT
2010 Scott Blair, K
Will Jackson, OG
Roddy Jones, RB
Logan Walls, DT
2011 Will Jackson, OG
Preston Lyons, RB
Jason Peters, DE
Logan Walls, DT
2012 Ray Beno, OT
Will Jackson, OG
2013 Ray Beno, OT
Trey Braun, OG
Harrison Butker, K