Schniederjans Named ACC Golfer of the Year

Schniederjans and Albertson have seven All-ACC accolades between them.
May 11, 2015

Greensboro, N.C. - Georgia Tech's Ollie Schniederjans was named Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year, and Anders Albertson was named along with Schniederjans to the ACC Men's Golf All-ACC team announced Monday by the conference office.

Wake Forest's Will Zalatoris garnered ACC Freshman of the Year accolades, while Florida State's Trey Jones was voted ACC Coach of the Year. The All-ACC Team, Player, and Freshman of the Year were decided by a combination of the Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin rankings, while Coach of the Year was selected by a vote of the league's 12 head coaches.

Schniederjans, the sixth player in league history to repeat as ACC Player of the Year, spent time this year at No. 1 in the World Amateur Golf Rankings and was named to the U.S. Palmer Cup Team. A native of Powder Springs, Ga., Schniederjans leads the league in scoring average and is ranked No. 10 in the country by Golfstat and No. 7 by Golfweek. In 10 events played this season, he won one and placed in the top 10 eight times. He made the All-ACC team for the third time in his career.

Schniederjans joined David Duval (1992, 1993) and Bryce Molder (1999, 2000, 2001) in winning ACC Player of the Year honors multiple times.

"Part of the challenge of coming back was how high expectations would be for him," said Tech coach Bruce Heppler. "He's dealt with that pretty well. He had one sub-par outing, but the rest of it was very good. I would rate it a pretty good follow up to what he did as a junior."

Albertson earned All-ACC honors for the fourth time in his career, becoming the 16th individual in league history to accomplish the feat. Ranked 34th in this week's Golfweek/Sagarin Index and No. 41 in Golfstat, Albertson shared medalist honors at the 2015 ACC Championship, earning the conference title for the second time in his career. He also was a co-medalist at the Robert Kepler Intercollegiate and has earned two other top-10 finishes and two 11th-place finishes in spring events.



Albertson joined Duval, Molder, Roberto Castro, Matt Kuchar and Cameron Tringale as four-time selections to the All-ACC team.

"Since the challenges he faced in the fall, he's played as well as anybody in the country," said Heppler. "It forced him to truly take a look at the way he went about it. He had a real conviction to accept himself for what he is, and he's played great.

"As a duo, what they have accomplished here and in the ACC would stand up against any two players we've had in this program."

Zalatoris became the first Demon Deacon to be named ACC Freshman of the Year since Webb Simpson in 2005. Jones, who led the Seminoles to four straight wins during the spring season and the No. 1 ranking in the country for most of spring, won coach of the year honors for the second time.

ACC Player of the Year - Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
ACC Freshman of the Year - Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest
ACC Coach of the Year - Trey Jones, Florida State
2014-15 All-ACC Men's Golf Team - Jack Maguire, Florida State; Hank Lebioda, Florida State; Rowin Caron, Florida State; Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech; Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech; Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Louisville; Ben Griffin, North Carolina; Derek Bard, Virginia; Denny McCarthy, Virginia; Trevor Cone, Virginia Tech; Scott Vincent, Virginia Tech; Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest

Georgia Tech's golf team is in its 20th year under head coach Bruce Heppler. The Yellow Jackets have won 16 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships, made 28 appearances in the NCAA Championship and been the national runner-up four times. Connect with Georgia Tech Golf on social media by liking their Facebook page, or following on Twitter (@GT_Golf). For more information on Tech golf, visit