Five Yellow Jackets Earn GCAA All-Region Honors

Bo Andrews made the GCAA All-Region team for the third time.

May 22, 2014

Complete GCAA All-Region teams

Norman, Okla. - All five members of the Georgia Tech lineup that will compete in the NCAA Championship beginning Friday have been named to the 2014 All-East Region team Thursday by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Oklahoma State, ranked No. 2 in Golfstat, is the only other team to have five of its players earn all-region honors. Top-ranked Alabama, No. 6 Georgia, No. 8 Washington and No. 19 Virginia each have four. A total of 157 players across six regions - Northeast, East, Southeast, Midwest, Central and West - earned all-region honors for 2014. Ollie Schniederjans, the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award, made the team for the third time along with Anders Albertson, an All-ACC performer this year for the third time, and senior Bo Andrews. Senior Richard Werenski made the team for the second time in his career, while Seth Reeves, an All-ACC selection this year as a senior, made the team for the first time. All five players are ranked among the top 130 in the nation.

The quintet has led Tech to six tournament victories this year, the most for a Yellow Jackets' team since the 2001-02 squad won set the program record with seven wins. Tech has won its last four starts heading into the NCAA Championship this weekend, including the Atlantic Coast Conference Championship and the NCAA Raleigh Regional.

The 2014 GCAA All-East Region Team
Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech; Bo Andrews, Georgia Tech; Derek Bard, Virginia; James Beale, Mercer; Stephen Behr, Clemson; Eric Brady, East Carolina; Bryce Chalkley, Virginia Tech; Trevor Cone, Virginia Tech; Mathieu Fenasse, Liberty; Carter Jenkins, UNGC; Austin Langdan, Clemson; Niklas Lindstrom, Liberty; Chase Marinell, Liberty; Denny McCarthy, Virginia; Adrian Meronk, ETSU; Zach Munroe, College of Charleston; David Pastore, Virginia; JT Poston, Western Carolina; Seth Reeves, Georgia Tech; Hans Reimers, Mercer; Trey Rule, Mercer; Ben Rusch, Virginia; Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech; Scott Vincent, Virginia Tech; Richard Werenski, Georgia Tech