Schniederjans Named First-Team All-American

Schniederjans has been named ACC Player of the Year and a finalist for two national player of the year awards.

May 27, 2014

Hutchinson, Kan. - Ollie Schniederjans was named a 2014 first-team All-American Tuesday by the Golf Coaches Association of America, the 12th different Georgia Tech player to earn that distinction.

Schniederjans, a junior from Powder Springs, Ga., joins Julien Brun of TCU, UCF's Greg Eason, California's Brandon Hagy and Joel Stalter, Stanford's Patrick Rodgers and Cameron Wilson, Alabama's Robby Shelton and Bobby Wyatt and Virginia Tech's Scott Vincent.

He has already been honored as this year's ACC Player of the Year and a finalist for the Ben Hogan and Jack Nicklaus Awards which go to the nation's top collegiate player. Schniederjans has won five tournaments in 2013-14, and been the runner-up in both the NCAA Championship stroke play and the NCAA Raleigh Regional.

First-team All-Americans under Tech coach Bruce Heppler include James White (2011), Cameron Tringale (2009), Roberto Castro (2005), Troy Matteson (2002, 2003), Bryce Molder (1998, 1999, 2000, 2001) and Matt Kuchar (1998, 2000), all of whom are currently active on the PGA Tour. Stewart Cink (1995), David Duval (1990, 1991, 1992, 1993), Bunky Henry (1967), Charlie Yates (1934) and Watts Gunn (1927) also earned first-team All-America honors.