Tech's Marshall Selected To Naismith Preseason Watch List

Tyaunna Marshall has 56 career games with double digit points.

Nov. 15, 2012

THE FLATS - Georgia Tech women's basketball junior guard Tyaunna Marshall was named to the Naismith Trophy women's early season watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Thursday.

It is the second major award watch list Marshall has been selected to after being named to the Wooden Award's preseason top 30 Nov. 9. The Upper Marlboro, Md., native was selected to the preseason All-ACC team by both the ACC's coaches and media members. Marshall earned third team All-ACC as a freshman in 2011 and second team All-ACC as a sophomore last season.

Marshall began the season with 978 career points and topped the 1,000 career point plateau against Kennesaw State Nov. 13. Marshall has averaged 14.0 points per game over her career and currently has 1,010 points. She is the 26 Yellow Jacket to score 1,000 points and only the 10th to do so before her senior season in the Gold and White.

"Ty Marshall is very deserving of this prestigious recognition," head coach MaChelle Joseph said. "It is a tremendous honor for Ty and our program."

Marshall has scored in double digits in 56 career games and has scored 20 or more points in 14 contests. She finished with 18 points in Tech's season-opener against Tennessee and 14 against Kennesaw State. In two games this year, Marshall has added 17 rebounds, five steals and five assists. She leads Georgia Tech in scoring and rebounding and is second the Jackets' squad in steals and assists.

The 50 player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012-2013 college basketball season. The Naismith Women's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 8, 2013, in New Orleans, La.

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. In March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

Notable Naismith Women's College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Rebecca Lobo, and Tina Charles. The Naismith women's Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the women's college basketball player of the year. For more information, visit

Fans are encouraged to follow Georgia Tech women's basketball on Twitter, @GTWBB, and like the Yellow Jackets on Facebook, GTWomensBasketball, for an inside look at the program.